Becoming a food Grower in Brome-Missisquoi


    THIS SITE IS UNDER DEVELOPMENT

    Located a few kilometres from the Canada-U.S. border and halfway between Sherbrooke and Montreal, the Brome-Missisquoi region is ideally located. Surrounded by hills, small valleys, lakes and rivers, the region embodies all the splendour of a beautiful landscape portrait and provides a lifestyle that makes it easier to maintain a healthy work-life balance. It’s a splendid area in which to start up and implement an agri-food project.

    You have an idea? We have the space and the expertise to help you make it a reality in an exceptional living environment.

    Overview of the region A FERTILE REGION
    FOR TERROIR VINEYARDS

    Brome-Missisquoi boasts an unusual agricultural heritage based on several cultural inheritances typical of the Eastern Townships. Agriculture is predominant in the west where the soil is very rich. The central region provides great potential for growing fruit while, in the east, large forests and mountains make up the countryside.

    The region is well known for its wine-growers and its orchards that benefit from well-drained slopes that are exposed to the sun. Some 25 wine-growers have settled there, making Brome-Missisquoi the leading wine-growing region in Quebec.

    In addition to traditional crops, the area’s terroirs and specific climactic conditions have helped develop unique emerging products, like ice cider. And the potential for sugar maple cultivation
    is extensive to meet the demand in maple syrup and maple water that is bottled and distributed throughout the world.

    Large businesses, like Bonduelle (Arctic Gardens) and Canards du Lac Brome, have also located in the region, the latter 100 years ago. This business processes more than 2 million Peking ducks a year.

    PROD_AgroInfolio_ENG-1

    CLD Brome Missisquoi.ca
    Facebook Twitter YouTube
    749, Principale
    Cowansville
    Québec J2K 1J8
    Phone 450-266-4928
    Fax 450-266-6141
    cldbm.qc.ca
    All rights reserved © Brome-Missisquoi CLD   |   Conception by Kuizin   |   Web Design by Nexion | Site map

devenir Artisan de la terre en Brome-Missisquoi


    portrait de la région Une région viticole
    et un terroir fertile

    Située à quelques kilomètres des États-Unis et à mi-chemin entre Sherbrooke et Montréal, la région de Brome-Missisquoi bénéficie d’une position géographique avantageuse. Contrée de collines, de vallons, de lacs et de rivières, elle rassemble toute la splendeur des plus beaux paysages et offre un cadre de vie qui facilite la conciliation travail-famille. C’est l’endroit par excellence pour y démarrer ou y implanter un projet agroalimentaire.

    Vous avez une idée en tête? Nous avons l’espace et l’expertise pour vous aider à la faire croître dans un cadre de vie exceptionnel.

    Brome-Missisquoi possède un patrimoine agricole hors du commun composé de plusieurs héritages culturels typiques aux Cantons-de-l’Est. L’agriculture domine dans les plaines de l’ouest où les terres sont très fertiles. Au centre, le territoire offre un potentiel fruitier élevé alors qu’à l’est, de grandes forêts et des montagnes caractérisent le paysage.

    La région est réputée pour ses vignobles et ses vergers qui profitent de versants exposés au soleil et bien drainés. Une vingtaine de vignobles y sont installés attribuant ainsi à Brome-Missisquoi le titre de Région viticole du Québec.

    En plus des exploitations traditionnelles, les terroirs et les conditions climatiques spécifiques à la région ont permis de développer des produits émergents et uniques tel que le cidre de glace. Le potentiel acéricole, quant à lui, est élevé tant pour le sirop d’érable que pour l’eau végétale qui est embouteillée et distribuée à travers le monde.

    La région compte aussi des entreprises de taille comme Bonduelle (Arctic Gardens) et Canards du Lac Brome. Cette dernière entreprise s’est implantée dans la région il y a cent ans. Elle conditionne plus de 2 millions de canards de Pékin par année.

    PROD_AgroInfolio_FR-1

    CLD Brome Missisquoi.ca
    Facebook Twitter YouTube
    749, rue Principale
    Cowansville
    Québec J2K 1J8
    Tél. 450-266-4928
    Télec. 450-266-6141
    cldbm.qc.ca
    Tous droits réservés © CLD de Brome-Missisquoi   |   Graphisme par Kuizin   |   Conception Web par Nexion | Plan du site